Built of local stone around 1680, the small regular brick shaped pieces historically denoted the owner’s wealth and status. The house remained under the ownership of two wealthy Jesi families, the Federicis and Pichiettis, for over 200 years until it fell into disrepair in the post war years and was used as the local village school.Discovered 6 years ago as a sleeping romantic ruin, Monastero di Favari has been renovated to a high standard whilst keeping it’s character and soul strongly intact. Further neglect ensued and its latter incarnation was as a farm dwelling with cow stalls on the ground floor and basic farmer’s living accommodation on the first floor. An outside staircase dating from the 1950s was added for this purpose but removed by the current owner to restore the frontage to its original state.
The Chapel was built in around 1750 and dedicated to San Bernadetto. Regular village masses were performed here until the 1980s. During its restoration frescoes of angels were uncovered in the vaulted arched ceiling above the altar and the original vibrant colours, sky blue, yellow and pink discovered under many coats of whitewash. It is currently being converted back to use a working chapel for weddings, blessings and other events.